IVF Scans 3, 4 & 5 An Ambling of Tortoises

Three days, three scans – thank goodness The Russian’s office downtown is only about 20 minutes away (depending on what Lake Shore Drive looks like) and I’ve found a sneaky free parking scenario at a nearby grocery store that offers 90 minutes parking with purchase….I think you see where that’s going.  It’s Chicago, you learn to break the rules a little.

Following last Friday’s bummer scan I was very hopeful that Monday’s scan would a) show progress and b) be done by my regular tech.  I got both my wishes, was told I’d likely be on stims for a few more nights and to make an appointment for Tuesday, as The Russian was going to be in the office and wanted to have a look herself.  One change to meds for Monday night: done with the Lupron and adding Ganirelix – maintaining dosages of Follistim and Menopur.

Tuesday’s appointment (scan 4) with The Russian also went well, though there wasn’t much progress from the day before, the largest follicles were around 15.5 or so….but The Russian seemed happy enough and said “I think we’ll get 8-10, they just need a little more time to grow.”  How can I doubt The Russian?

I was asked to come back already today for scan 5, as we’re getting super close to hitting that lead follicle 18mm mark that signals time to trigger.  I was back with my regular ultrasound tech, who totally laughed at the way The Russian had taken her measurements and got down to business.  We’re looking at lots of follicles – likely to be 8-10 mature-ish for ER and a bunch of “little squeakers” as the tech calls them.  

In the end they’re having me stim again tonight – day 13 (lucky 13!) and I’ll go in again tomorrow, where likely a few of these little guys will have hit the 18mm mark and we can move forward.  I joked to The Russian’s Right Hand regarding the fact that these guys seem to be taking their sweet-ass time and she said that that’s just fine, as long as they’re growing and growing steadily, and that this (hopefully) ups the chances that the eggs will be healthier.

And to boot, I’ve been fighting one of those highly annoying summer colds. I’m trying not to take anything internally, even though they told me I could, it just seems like one more thing.  It’s not awful awful and it’s only a cold so it won’t kill me, and as long as it’s gone by whenever we do embryo transfer, it’ll be a win.  Two nights ago I DIYed the saline solution in my Neti Pot — oh the burn, y’all, the burn — imagine eating the biggest wad of wasabi and you’re close.  Last night and tonight I’ve been smearing on a mentholatum mustache – so sexy….so….so….sexy.  I also have some eucalyptus oil so I’ve been adding that to a bowl of hot water and inhaling the steam.  

I mean, I was doing way too well with the stims….feeling very few side effects – I pretty much asked to catch a little somethin’ somethin’.

So that’s that…..just sitting here chuggin’ along, full of snot, my abdomen host to a race where our contestants are  sauntering towards the finish line.  

Hopefully some news on next steps at tomorrow’s scan.

5 thoughts on “IVF Scans 3, 4 & 5 An Ambling of Tortoises

  1. That’s a great number of follicles! I am excited for you. Yeah my RE is 1 hour away so I have to take a half day off every time to see her. Good thing we saw her 3 times last weekend all during the holiday weekend so no need to take time off and DH could go with me. Yeah with the amount of injections and the pills that you have to take afterwards, it does seem like the body is on overdrive with all these drugs. Praying for good news for you and hope that your cold goes away!

Leave a Reply

