The 2WW: The Beatles Were Right

So we’re about halfway through our slightly abridged 2ww and are 6dp3dt. For any of you not in the acronym know, 6dp3dt = 6 Days Past 3 Day Transfer – and we’ll blood test on Day 12.

I’m having a much easier time with this wait than I did with other periods of waiting in the process: waiting to stop birth control, waiting for meds, waiting between scans, etc. It’s an odd thing to know that right now, as we speak, I am either pregnant or not pregnant….it’s simply too early to tell.

Throughout the time I’ve been trying to get pregnant I’ve read a lot about the 2ww (and have been in it many many times) and mostly I find myself shaking my head at people.

You just have to wait!

Time has to pass – there’s no changing it.

So for me, I’m NOT going on the internet to read too many opinions by too many people without any medical knowledge, I’m not reading into every little thing my body’s doing, I’m not over-thinking every little moment, and I’m not going out to buy pregnancy tests before there’s any chance of them registering anything accurate.

You know why?

Because I’ve done some of that before and it got me nowhere. I also hate to pull the age-card, but I am 42….at this point there’s some life experience to lean on. I know that to do any of the above things is pretty much like punching myself in the face, running around the house with a scissor, or like covering myself in peanut butter and then taunting a bear.

I’d be knowingly setting myself up for confusion, discouragement and frustration.

And frankly, I like none of those things.

In other news, I’ve been doing progesterone shots since last Saturday’s egg retrieval and so far so good. The nurse was kind enough to draw a circle on each fanny so that I’d have a target – and I’ve been retracing her lines every few days. Man I hope I’m not in an accident or anything, though I’m sure it would give the EMTs a good giggle to see a grown lady with circles on her butt cheeks.

A note on these shots: the needle is intimidating, because it’s an inch-and-a-half long and you know it’s all gotta go in. Honestly though, it’s so sharp that by simply resting it on my skin and pressing a bit the needle does all the work and after the initial sting from the tip of the needle it really hasn’t hurt at all. I shit you not. Perhaps I’m lucky and have a high threshold for pain, but after reading so many things on the interwebs about how awful they are, I really have thankfully not had that experience. I’m able to do them myself and they go pretty quickly.

I put a bag of frozen vegetables on first, do the shot, rub it around and then sit on a heating pad for a few minutes afterwards to help the oil work its way in. This is what works for me.

The progesterone’s another reason it’s easy not to read into every symptom, because likely it’s the progesterone’s fault. I’m a little sleepy, yesterday had a teensy bit of nausea and I suddenly have a decent set of knockers. They’ve grown enough that I really don’t need to wear my “smoke-and-mirrors” bra unless I really want to vavavoom it.

So alas, we’re in a good place: lots of movies, books, cooking and general chilling out. Time’s actually passing fairly quickly, we’ve been laughing a lot and life kind of plods on as usual.

Soon enough we’ll know which road we’re taking next and in the meantime, in the words of the great Paul McCartney, we’ll Let It  Be.  

Wow, that was super cornballs, even for me.

8 thoughts on “The 2WW: The Beatles Were Right

  1. I have to agree with you that some of the other parts of the process are almost worse than the 2ww. It felt like an eternity to start our cycle, then each ultrasound appointment seems so far away. But once I’m in the 2ww, even though it makes me crazy, I hang on to notion that it may have worked. If it didn’t work, it will all be over soon enough. It’s just nice to cherish those last days. Love your outlook and attitude. Fingers crossed!

  2. You know, I didn’t do my transfer so I know that I am definitely not pregnant. My boobs have been bigger and rounder and sore to the touch. I’d say it’s the residual effect of the progesterone even though I had stopped it almost a week ago. I am keeping my fingers crossed for you! It’s wise not to read too much on the internet.

  3. That stupid progesterone and its pregnancy symptoms! I hope you don’t have awful nightmares like I did.

    I’m with Isabelle, fingers crossed for your little embie to implant and grow!

    • Actually, I’ve had a couple of dreams that were pretty hilarious and much more memorable than usual. I had to tell my husband about one because it involved a few friends, The Rock and myself running around an amusement park.

  4. Wow, does the Rock have stock in Progestone because during my last round, I had 2 dreams with him in them!!! I think it was the only good thing I got from the progesterone! Haha Enjoy your time right now just as you have been. Thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

