New Supplements, Tests and Fran Drescher

Dr. Hail Mary puts all his patients on the same supplement regiment…..and then adds to it as necessary once test results come in. So, I’m now on the following supplements:

Prescription Prenatal with DHA (continued with pregnancy)
Pregnitude Reproductive Support Dietary Supplement (includes folic acid 200mcg & myo-inositol 2000mg) – it’s a powder that’s mixed with 8oz. water and taken twice a day. (it’s stopped with pregnancy)
CoQ10 – 600mg/day (stop with pregnancy)
Calcium – 1000-1300mg per day (stop with pregnancy)
Vitamin D – 200-400IU per day (stop with pregnancy)

I’ve been asked to stop all other supplements (Royal Jelly and pycnogenol, which I only took during IVF3)

Yesterday I went  in for Day 3 bloodtest and ultrasound (and I met the most entertaining person even to put an ultrasound wand up my nethers)

Yesterday’s tests covered:

estrogen level, LH, FSH, TSH, thyroid, pituitary, prolactin, DHEAs, Testosterone and something that I can’t read…..because he’s a doctor, and his handwriting is…..stereotypical.
 

When I got there, my IVF nurse took me in to take some blood and asked if I ever fainted. I said no and asked if she had patients that did. She looked at me and emphatically nodded yes, then added, “most often it’s the men.” She then proceeded to take 4 vials of blood and explain when I’d be able to get results and how (calling in to a voicemail network).

And then I was greeted by my new U/S (ultrasound) tech….who for some reason reminded me of Fran Dreshcer, minus the accent and nasal laugh….I think it was the hair and no-nonsense attitude. I was on the table and she started the ultrasound – said everything looked fine as she counted my follicles and checked my lining. I asked her something and she went on an amazing run of an answer about how great Dr. Hail Mary is, how he’s very aggressive with his treatments and straight-forward with his patients, how she’s seen him get people pregnant that had everything against them, how/where/when I’ll get all my information, what the hysterosonogram will be like that I have to get soon, how she’s going to try her best to schedule it because the doctor’s schedule is full and he’s at conferences in February, how her mother had a straight-forward doctor and she didn’t like him but he was the best and something and something and something.

Somewhere in the midst of that she dropped a well-placed F bomb and it was then that I knew we’d get along just fine.

OH – and that entire conversation took place while she was holding the U/S wand as I’m on a table in a dimly lit room….so it was hard not to laugh at the ridiculousness of the scenario.

She was great though, she was so encouraging and I look forward to seeing her many times throughout these next few months….must remember not to call her Fran.

By day’s end I had some of the results:

my once slightly elevated Prolactin is now in the normal range at 17.07, TSH 2.57 and DHEAS 83 (I didn’t write down estrogen and progesterone but they were both normal). I will have to call in next week to get results on ovarian reserve and autoimmune stuff…..and I’m now waiting to hear if I can be squeezed in for that Hysterosonogram early next week. It has to be done Day 6-12 and I’m out of town Days 10-12…..and the doc’s schedule is packed. So, fingers are crossed that Fran (must remember not to call her Fran) will indeed make something work.

Since this is a “test” cycle to see what’s happening in there, I started estradiol (estrogen) last night and will do progesterone shots the 2nd half of the cycle. I’ll talk about the various tests as I have them this month….the hysterosonogram, a couple of biopsies, etc.

And yes, I could harp on “why didn’t some of these tests happen before” but why do that to myself.

For reals. Why.

Instead, we’re excited to do them now and rock out IVF4.

3 thoughts on “New Supplements, Tests and Fran Drescher

Leave a Reply

